Members Win at Prime Minister’s Literary Awards


The Copyright Agency extends congratulations to members Bill Condon and Lorraine Marwood who received awards in the young adult fiction and the children’s fiction categories.

Bill Condon, a longstanding Copyright Agency member, won for his work Confessions of a Liar, Thief and Failed Sex God. Judges commented on the work saying that it is a ‘poignant, funny and deeply insightful rite of passage novel’.

Lorraine Marwood won for her work Star Jumps, which tells the story of a farming family struggling through long-term drought.  This year was the first time the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have included categories for young adult and children’s fiction.

The fiction category was won by Eva Hornung for Dog Boy and the non-fiction category by Grace Karskens for The Colony: The History of Early Sydney.

Copyright Agency Director Brian Johns was on the judging panel for non-fiction category along with Colin Steele and Faye Sutherland.  Peter Pierce, John Hay and Lyn Gallacher judged the fiction category while Robyn Sheahan-Bright, Mary-Ruth Mendel and Mike Shuttleworth judged the children’s and young adult categories.

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate the contribution of Australian literature to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. The awards, held annually, recognise literature’s importance to our national identity, community and economy.

For more information see the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards website.

Tags: , , ,