Shortlisted for 2011 CBCA Awards


The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has announced the shortlists for the 2011 Book of the Year Awards.

The Copyright Agency extends its congratulations to the members shortlisted in the categories below.

Book of the Year: Older Readers
Joanne Horniman for About a Girl (Allen & Unwin)
Doug MacLeod for The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher (Penguin)
Fiona Wood for Six Impossible Things (Pan Macmillan)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers
Anna Branford & Sarah Davis for Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot (Walker Books)
Isobelle Carmody for The Red Wind (Viking Books)
Meg McKinlay for Duck for a Day (Walker Books)
Sally Murphy for Toppling (Walker Books)

Book of the Year: Early Childhood
Deborah Niland for The Tall Man and the Twelve Babies (Allen & Unwin)
Usula Dubosarsky for The Deep End (Puffin)
Alison Lester for Noni the Pony (Allen & Unwin)
Deborah Niland for It’s Bedtime, William! (Viking Books)
Leonie Norrington for Look See, Look at Me! (Allen & Unwin)
Jan Ormerod & Freya Blackwood for Maudie and Bear (Little Hare)

Picture Book of the Year
Jeannie Baker for Mirror (Walker Books)
Bronwyn Bancroft for Why I Love Australia (Little Hare)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books
Nicolas  Brasch for Theme Parks, Playgrounds and Toys (Macmillan Education)
Terry Denton for Wicked Warriors & Evil Emperors: The True Story of the Fight for Ancient China (Puffin)

The winners will be announced and presented during Children’s Book Week on Friday 19 August 2011.

For further information, refer to the CBCA website.

Tags: ,