2011 APA Book Design Awards


The Australian Publishers Association (APA) announced the winners of the 2011 Book Design Awards as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on 19 May.

2011 marks the 59th year of the Awards, which have grown over the years to now include nearly 20 categories. The Copyright Agency extends its congratulations to the publishers of the books below, all of whom are members.

Best Designed Book of the Year
Quay: Food Inspired by Nature (Peter Gilmore, Murdoch Books) designed by Reuben Crossman

Best Designed Cover of the Year
Hand Me Down World (Lloyd Jones, Text) cover design by W H Chong

Best Designed Children’s Cover of the Year
The Staring Owl (Luke Edwards, Omnibus) cover design by Luke Edwards

Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book
The Midnight Zoo (Sonya Hartnett, Viking) designed by Tony Palmer

Best Designed Children’s Nonfiction Book (joint winners)
Somme Mud: Younger Readers’ Edition (Will Davies, Random House) designed by Liz Seymour
Wicked Warriors and Evil Emperors (Alison Lloyd & Terry Denton, Puffin) designed by Adam Laszczuk

Best Designed Children’s Picture Book
The Tomorrow Book (Jackie French, HarperCollins) designed by Natalie Winter

Best Designed Children’s Series
The ‘Moorehawke’ trilogy, Vols II & III (Celine Kiernan, A&U) designed by Bruno Herfst and Elise Hurst

Best Designed Young Adult Book
Graffiti Moon (Cath Crowley, Pan Macmillan) designed by Melanie Feddersen of i2i Designs

Best Designed Fiction Book
Jasper Jones (Craig Silvey, A&U) designed by Lisa White and Bookhouse

Best Designed Cookbook
Quay: Food Inspired by Nature (Peter Gilmore, Murdoch Books) designed by Reuben Crossman

Best Designed Specialist Illustrated Book
Mari Funaki: Objects (Jane Devery, NGV) designed by Dirk Hiscock

Best Designed General Illustrated Book
Shack (Simon Griffiths, Lantern) designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed Literary Fiction Book
Hand Me Down World (Lloyd Jones, Text) designed by W H Chong

Best Designed Nonfiction Book
A Life in Frocks (Kelly Doust, Murdoch Books) designed by Zoe Sadokierski

Best Designed Reference & Scholarly Book
‘Pocket History’ series (various authors, Murdoch Books) designed by Jenny Grigg

Best Designed Primary Education Book
The Bug Club (various authors, Pearson) designer by Kath Greenough and Lisa Austin

Best Designed Secondary Education Book
The Food Book (Leanne Compton, OUP) designed by Regine Abos

Best Designed Tertiary & Further Education Book
News as It Happens (Stephen Lamble, OUP) designed by Regine Abos and Damage Design

Young Designer of the Year
Emily O’Neill for Ape House (Sara Gruen, A&U), Journey to the Stone Country (Alex Miller, A&U), Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand(Helen Simonson, A&U) and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows, A&U).

For further information, please visit the APA’s website.