Shortlist for 2011 Qld Premier’s Literary Awards


Queensland Premier Anna Bligh announced the shortlists for the 2011 Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards on 22 August.

In a statement on the announcement Premier Bligh said that ‘This year’s shortlist includes passionate, inspiring, educational and humorous works by some of Australia’s great writers, reflecting the incredible literary talent thriving in Queensland and throughout Australia.’

The Copyright Agency congratulates the members shortlisted in the following categories.

Fiction Book Award

  • Geraldine Brooks for Caleb’s Crossing
  • Kim Scott for That Deadman Dance
  • Ouyang Yu for The English Class

Non-Fiction Book Award

  • Anna Krien for Into the Woods: The Battle for Tasmania’s Forests

History Book – Faculty of Arts, University of Queensland Award

  • Alan Powell for Northern Voyagers: Australia’s monsoon coast in maritime history
  • Penny Russell for Savage or Civilised?: Manners in Colonial Australia
  • Martin Thomas for The Many Worlds of R.H. Matthews: In search of an Australian anthropologist

Young Adult Book Award

  • Ursula Dubosarsky for The Golden Day
  • Mark Svendsen for To Die For

Science Writer Award

  • John Wrigley and Murray Fagg for Eucalyptus: A celebration

Poetry Collection – Arts Queensland Judith Wright Calanthe Award

  • Caroline Caddy for Burning Bright
  • John Tranter for Starlight: 150 poems

Literary or Media Work Advancing Public Debate – The Harry Williams Award

  • Anna Krien for Into the Woods: The Battle for Tasmania’s Forests
  • David Marr for Quarterly Essay 38: Power Trip – The Political Journey of Kevin Rudd
  • George Megalogenis for Quarterly Essay 40: Trivial Pursuit – Leadership and the End of the Reform Era
  • Lindsay Tanner for Sideshow: dumbing down democracy

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 6 September.

For further information and to view the complete shortlists, visit the literary awards website.

Tags: , ,