Authors Nominated for 2011 NSW Premier’s History Awards

September 1, 2011

The NSW Arts Minister George Souris announced the shortlist for the NSW Premier’s History Awards on 26 August.

The Awards promote excellence in the interpretation of history and play a role in establishing standards in historical research and publication.

The Copyright Agency congratulates the members shortlisted in the book-related categories below:

Australian History Prize

  • Joy Damousi for Colonial Voices: A Cultural History of English in Australia (CUP)
  • Jim Davidson for A Three-Cornered Life: The Historian W K Hancock (UNSW Press)
  • Penny Russell for Savage or Civilised? Manners in Colonial Australia (NewSouth)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize

  • Delia Falconer for Sydney (NewSouth)
  • Stephen Gapps for Cabrogal to Fairfield City: A History of a Multicultural Community (Fairfield city Museum & Gallery)

Young People’s History Prize

  • Sherryl Clark for Our Australian Girl: Meet Rose (Puffin)
  • Kirsty Murray for India Dark (A&U)
  • Nicole Pluss for Scout (Penguin)

Multimedia History Prize

  • Sharon Davis for The Aarons Family Files

The winners will be announced at a formal presentation dinner on 5 September, during NSW History week. A prize of $15,000 is awarded to the winner of each of the five categories. The Awards are presented by Arts NSW, a division of the Department of Trade & Investment, Regional Infrastructure & Services, with the support of the History Council of NSW.

For further information and to view the full shortlist, visit the Arts NSW website.

Tags: , , , ,