Miles Franklin Longlist Announced


Australian Literature At Its Finest – The highly anticipated Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist announced.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was first awarded in 1957, through the will of My Brilliant Career author Miles Franklin – and has since been regarded as Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. Each year a grand total of $60,000 is presented to the novel which is of highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

And now the Trust Company, as a Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, announced the much anticipated 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist. The list boasts an array of eleven established Australian and new generation novelists, including two previous winners and two debut authors.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist for 2014:

Author Novel Publisher
Tracy Farr The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt Fremantle Press
Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North Random House Australia
Ashley Hay The Railwayman’s Wife Allen & Unwin
Melissa Lucashenko Mullumbimby University of Queensland Press
Fiona McFarlane The Night Guest Penguin Group Australia
Nicolas Rothwell Belomor Text Publishing
Trevor Shearston Game Allen & Unwin
Cory Taylor My Beautiful Enemy Text Publishing
Tim Winton Eyrie Penguin Group Australia
Alexis Wright The Swan Book Giramondo Publishing
Evie Wyld All the Birds, Singing Random House Australia

Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund has long been a supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award and sponsors $5,000 in prize money for each author on the yet to be announced shortlist. The Cultural Fund also fosters an important partnership with the English Teachers’ Association – developing Miles Franklin teaching modules for senior high schools.

Until the shortlist is announced, the public is invited to play the judge through an interactive online “You be the Judge” campaign to see whether they can predict the shortlist. The voters will need to consider the direction that Miles Franklin gave when setting up the award in her will, being that the prize shall be awarded to the novel of the year of the highest literary merit which must present Australian life in any of its phases.

Polls are now open until Monday May 12 – asking the “online judges” to select their top three contenders based on novel extracts, synopsis and biographies of authors made available to help the readers’ decision.

The actual judges on the panel are: State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville; The Australian journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren; Sydney-based bookseller, Anna Low; biographer, book historian, publishing editor, and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro; and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

They will select the Miles Franklin 2014 shortlist, which will be announced at a public event at the State Library of New South Wales on Thursday 15 May 2014, with the winner also to be announced in Sydney on Thursday 26 June 2014.

Tags: , ,