2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist unveiled

May 18, 2015

Perpetual, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, and shortlist sponsor, the Copyright Agency, have today announced the five authors shortlisted for the 2015 Award.

The 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist is:

  • Sonya Hartnett, Golden Boys, Penguin Books Australia
  • Sofie Laguna, The Eye of the Sheep, Allen & Unwin
  • Joan London, The Golden Age, Random House Australia
  • Christine Piper, After Darkness, Allen & Unwin
  • Craig Sherborne, Tree Palace, Text Publishing

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville, said: “The 2015 Miles Franklin shortlist presents a powerful group of Australian novels with a rich cast of unforgettable characters, and themes ranging from childhood gangs and domestic violence to itinerant thieves, wartime internment and the post-war polio epidemic.”

In addition to Mr Neville, the judging panel includes: The Australian journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren; Sydney-based bookseller, Lindy Jones; biographer, book historian, publishing editor, and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair, Craig Munro; and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

Each of the 2015 shortlisted authors will receive $5,000 from the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund, which has sponsored the Miles Franklin Literary Award since 2004. In that time, the fund has granted more than half a million dollars to the Award’s shortlisted authors.

The Copyright Agency’s Chief Executive, Murray St Leger, said “The $5000 for each of the five shortlisted authors is our way of giving further recognition to their amazing work, helping them to pay the bills and encouraging them to please give us more to read!”

The Miles Franklin 2015 shortlist announcement was made at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference at the State Library Victoria, following an oration by 2008 Miles Franklin winner, Steven Carroll.

Perpetual’s National Manager of Philanthropy, Caitriona Fay, congratulated the shortlisted authors. “As the shortlist announcement shows, Miles Franklin’s legacy continues to make a significant impact on the lives of authors and book lovers alike,” Ms Fay said.

Tags: , ,