The 2016 Dorothy Hewett Award Shortlist Announced


UWA Publishing today announced the 2016 Dorothy Hewett Award Shortlist for unpublished manuscripts.

The award, now in its second year, attracted 85 entries of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, which were judged by poet Lucy Dougan, critic James Ley and UWA Publishing Director, Terri-ann White.

The judges were thrilled that three of the shortlisted manuscripts have a strong focus, in one way or another, with the legacy of the work of Australian women writers of the twentieth century – a lovely coincidence that this has occurred in an award named after Dorothy Hewett.

UWA Publishing is delighted to announce the shortlisted entrants are:

  • Anne-Marie Priest, ‘A Free Flame’ (Queensland; narrative non-fiction): a compelling account of the careers of four notable Australian women writers: Gwen Harwood, Dorothy Hewett, Christina Stead and Ruth Park. With clarity and insight, it weaves biography, literary criticism and cultural history
  • Odette Kelada, ‘Drawing Sybilla’ (Victoria; fiction): an intriguing narrative of five interconnected stories woven together through the poetic figure of a muse, to imagine ‘storylines’ of twentieth century Australian women writers
  • Karen Han Throssell, ‘The Man Who Wasn’t There’ (Victoria; narrative non-fiction): a memoir in defence of the political vilification of her father by the granddaughter of Katharine Susannah Prichard
  • Carolyn Abbs, ‘The Tiny Museums’ (Western Australia; poetry): a volume of poems that mines the spaces between deep time and now; between geographies, forms of expression, and a range of doublings and mirrors
  • Rachael Mead, ‘The Flaw in the Pattern’ (South Australia; poetry): a volume of poems capturing the legacy of the strong bonds between writing and walking; building an ever-present sense of encountering place through a powerfully alive embodiment
  • Christopher Hill, ‘The Savage Club’ (Western Australia; fiction): a novel that ambitiously takes on anthropology, fieldwork and massacres in the East Kimberley region of Western Australia in 1926 and then time-travels to a political speech delivered in a Redfern park in 1992

The Dorothy Hewett Award was created by UWA Publishing in 2015 and is funded by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. The winner receives $10,000 and a publishing contract with UWA Publishing. The winner will be announced at a ceremony as part of the Perth Writers Festival 2017.

For all enquiries contact the UWA Publishing Marketing Department
TEL +61 8 6488 3670