Fellowship Guidelines

Author Fellowships

The Copyright Agency will award $80,000 to a mid to late career author for a 12 month period to develop and create work.

To be eligible, the applicant must be a mid to late career author with at least five substantial published books. Of these five published books, two can be self-published.

  • The applicant must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.
  • Open to novelists, playwrights, poets, scriptwriters, non-fiction writers, children’s and young adult book writers, and journalists.
  • Authors must submit their own applications. Publishers are not able to apply on behalf of authors.
  • The applicant must have a publishing contract or a letter of intention to publish from the publisher. This prize/fellowship is not to supplant any advance offered under their publishing contract.
  • The successful applicant will agree to acknowledge the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund support in any publication arising from the fellowship.
Supporting documentation
  • Proof of a publishing contract or letter of intent from publisher
  • A synopsis of the proposed work
  • A sample of writing (5 pages)
  • A demonstration of the applicant’s publishing record/list of published works/ a professional writing CV.


Applications are now closed.

Author Fellowships Announcement: November 2017

Acquittal Report / Research Paper Due: 1 January 2019


Past recipients

Nominated as our inaugural recipient in 2015, Mark Henshaw received the Author Fellowship to support his continued development and writing of ‘The Missing’.

Mark’s published works include:

  • Out of the Line of Fire Penguin Books 1988
  • Last Thoughts of a Dead Man Arcane 17 1990
  • If God Sleeps [in collaboration with John Clanchy] Penguin Books 1997
  • And Hope to Die [in collaboraton with John Clanchy] Penguin Books 2007
  • The Snow Kimono TEXT Publishing 2014

In 2016 Copyright Agency awarded the Fellowship to Melissa Lucashenko for her upcoming novel ‘Too Much Lip’.

Melissa’s published works include:

  • Steam Pigs (UQP) 1997
  • Killing Darcy (UQP) 1998
  • Hard Yards (UQP) 1999
  • Too Flash (IAD Press) 2002
  • Mullumbimby (UQP) 2013
  • ‘Sinking Below Sight: Down and Out in Brisbane and Logan’ in Griffith Review 2013

Publisher Fellowships

Copyright Agency Publisher Fellowships of up to $10,000 each will be awarded to research world-leading trends in the publishing industry and to share this information with the industry.

These Fellowships aim to celebrate excellence and innovation in publishing while providing an opportunity for Australia’s best publishers to build awareness of publishing trends and emerging business models and technologies. The Fellowships provide fellows with support to learn from leaders in publishing from around the world.



Further information on the Publisher Fellowships will be available later this year.



Share Tweet