Thirteen writers and illustrators receive ASA mentorship awards

December 8, 2016

Thirteen talented writers have been selected as mentorship recipients under the ASA’s Emerging Writers’ and Illustrators’ Mentorship Program.

Twelve of these mentorships are supported by Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund, while the thirteenth is funded by the income from the collected works of acclaimed children’s author, Edel Wignell.

Each recipient receives a 25-hour free mentorship to develop a work-in-progress during 2017, with a follow-up consultation in 2018 to assist with submissions to publishers or agents.

The ASA received 215 eligible applications across seven genres, including illustration and graphic novels. This year the assessment panel was comprised of poet, author and publisher Susan Hawthorne, experienced publisher Bert Hingley, renowned children’s book expert Linsay Knight, editor and industry consultant Joel Naoum, librarian, speaker and children’s expert Leonie Tyle, children’s illustrator Bruce Whatley, YA writer Carole Wilkinson and graphic novelist, Julie Ditrich.

Winners of the twelve Copyright Agency Cultural Fund mentorships are:

  • Emily Stokovich (Fiction)
  • Catherine Coltay (Fiction)
  • Greg Woodland (Fiction)
  • Beth Amos (Fiction)
  • Nicole Crowe (Non-Fiction)
  • Alison Stegert (Childremns)
  • Lyn Halliday (Childrens)
  • Charlotte Callander (Young Adult)
  • Katerina Craven (Young Adult)
  • Lucie Towers (Graphic Novel)
  • Kathryn Fry (Poetry)
  • Catherine Steele (Picture Book Illustrator)

The children’s author awarded the Edel Wignell Mentorship is Sandra Makaresz

The five highly commended applicants are:

  • Louise Lark (Fiction)
  • Lisa Emanuel (Fiction)
  • Hannah Bent (Fiction)
  • Simon O’Carrigan (Picture Book Illustration)
  • Sandra Makaresz (Young Adult)

The full assessors’ report has been made available on the ASA website.

For further information please contact Jacqui Dent, Communications Manager, on (02) 9211 1004 or email