Walkleys, Stanleys celebrate written and visual journalistic excellence

December 5, 2017

Awards for our leading journalists, photographers and cartoonists have flowed thick and fast in the past few weeks.

Walkley Awards

On Wednesday 29 November, the 62nd Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism were held in Brisbane.

Fairfax Media’s Michael Bachelard and Kate Geraghty won the coveted Gold Walkley Award​ for their extraordinary work, “Surviving IS: Stories of Mosul”.

Kate Geraghty was also named this year’s Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year for a body of work that included coverage of the frontlines of Mosul, the war on drugs in the Philippines, the famine crisis in South Sudan, and Australian Vietnam War veterans who have retired to their old battlegrounds.

Former political editor for The Age, Michael Gordon, won the Walkley Award for Outstanding Contribution for his groundbreaking reporting, fair leadership and generosity over 44 years in the industry.

Copyright Agency’s Board Director, Fairfax Business Journalist Adele Ferguson was also a winner in two categories: Investigative Journalism for ‘Bleed Them Dry Until They Die: The retirement villages ripping off retirees’ with ABC Four Corners’ Sarah Danckert and Klaus Toft; and for Business Journalism for ‘The Domino’s Pizza Expose’ with colleague Mario Christodoulou.

Cartoon of the Year was awarded to Fairfax’s Cathy Wilcox for ‘Low-cost housing, London’.

Stanley Awards

On Saturday, 25 November the Australian Cartoonist Association held the 2017 Stanley Awards in Canberra. Cartoonist of the Year went to the Australian Financial Review’s David Rowe.

The Copyright Agency sponsors the Children’s Book Illustrator of the Year Award which was won by Jules Faber (known for his Weirdo series with Anh Do among others) from a very competitive field of Rob Feldman, Don Hatcher, Johannes Leak and Simon Schneider.

Illustrator and Copyright Agency member Jules Faber with his Stanley Award. Photo: Sue Nelson

Tags: , , , , ,