Judges announced for the John Fries Award 2018

January 29, 2018

The judges have been announced for the ninth Annual John Fries Award, for which the call for entries is now open.

Consuelo Cavaniglia, interdisciplinary artist, academic and independent curator, continues in her role as Guest Curator and Judge for a second year.

She is joined by Sophia Kouyoumdjian, coordinator at Parramatta Artists Studios; Dr Mikala Tai, director of 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art; Shannon Te Ao, Walters Prize-winning artist based in Wellington, New Zealand; and Kath Fries, Sydney-based artist, Chair of the Award and daughter of the prizes namesake, John Fries.

Consuelo Cavaniglia says the judges on this year’s panel bring a great range of expertise, breadth of knowledge and experience to the John Fries Award 2018.

“I’m thrilled to welcome them to the judging panel, they are an esteemed group of professionals who bring extensive knowledge of contemporary art and diversity of experience to the prize.

“The John Fries Award attracts an exciting cross-section of contemporary early-career artists from across Australia and New Zealand and presents a great opportunity for early-career artists to access highly regarded professionals through the judging process,” Ms Cavaniglia says.

“The John Fries Award places early-career artists in the spotlight, supporting the advancement of their career and promoting a wide variety of artistic practices,” she says.

The John Fries Award has established itself as one of the most highly coveted awards for early-career artists in Australia and New Zealand.

This year’s finalists will present work in an exhibition at UNSW Galleries (the award’s presenting partner for the fifth consecutive year) from 29 September to 3 November.

The winning work will receive $10,000. The award is non-acquisitive.

The award is generously donated by the Fries family, in memory of Viscopy director and honorary treasurer, John Fries. John was known for his contribution to the life and success of Viscopy. Viscopy merged with the Copyright Agency on 30 November 2017 following a successful five-year-partnership agreement.

The Call for Entries is now open and closes on Monday, 19 February 2018. To enter, go to www.johnfriesaward.com/enter

From left: 2018 John Fries Award judges Dr Mikala Tai, Shannon Te Ao and Sophia Kouyoumdjian (photos supplied).

Tags: , , , ,