Win tickets to the Australian Book Industry Awards

April 9, 2018

Every year, the Australian Book Industry awards one exceptional book the title of Book of the Year. To celebrate this award, Better Reading wants to find out which of the past winners is Australia’s favourite.

Pick a Book of the Year, explain why it’s your favourite and you could win the ABIA 2018 prize pack.

The winner will receive two VIP tickets to the Australian Book Industry Awards, in Sydney, including flights and accommodation plus a copy of ALL the ABIA winning Books of the Year.

The competition will end at 5pm on 19 April, 2018.

Enter here.

ABIA Longlist announced

The 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards longlist, announced last month, celebrates the diversity and exceptional quality of Australian writing, publishing and bookselling.

The longlist was voted for by the ABIA Academy, a group of publishers, booksellers, agents, media and industry representatives.

The Copyright Agency has this year sponsored the General Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award. The longlisted books for this award are:

  • Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousness, Kate Cole-Adams (Text Publishing, Text Publishing)
  • Being 14, Madonna King (Hachette, Hachette Australia)
  • Depends What You Mean By Extremist, John Safran (Hamish Hamilton Australia, Penguin Random House Australia)
  • First, We Make The Beast Beautiful, Sarah Wilson (Macmillan Australia, Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Not Just Lucky, Jamila Rizvi (Viking Australia, Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Saga Land, Richard Fidler and Kári Gíslason (ABC Books, HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Taming Toxic People, David Gillespie (Macmillan Australia, Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • The Harbour: A City’s Heart, A Country’s Soul, Scott Bevan (Simon & Schuster Australia, Simon & Schuster Australia)
  • The Trauma Cleaner: One Woman’s Extraordinary Life in Death, Decay & Disaster, Sarah Krasnostein (Text Publishing, Text Publishing)

A shortlist will be released on Thursday 19 April, with the winners announced at the publishing industry’s night of nights on Thursday 3 May. The red carpet event will be held at Sydney’s International Convention Centre and hosted by ABC TV’s Zoe Norton-Lodge and Ben Jenkins (The Checkout). Buy tickets here.