Copyright Agency appoints two new Board Directors

November 20, 2019

The Copyright Agency announced the appointment of two new Board Directors at its AGM on 20 November 2019 and released its end of financial year results.

Copyright Agency Chairman Kim Williams welcomed the Deputy Chair of the Australian Society of Authors, Anne Maria Nicholson as an author director, and Managing Director of McGraw-Hill Education Cath Godfrey as a publisher director.

Ms Nicholson takes the place of outgoing author director, journalist Chris Pash, who has served on the Board since 2016. Ms Godfrey takes the place of Lucrezia Russell who has served on the Board since 2010.

A third Board director, the independent Anthony Bertini, has also finalised his Board term with the appointment of a replacement to be made in 2020.

Mr Williams says, “I welcome both Anne Maria and Cath to the Board. Anne Maria Nicholson is well known as a longstanding ABC journalist, broadcaster and author. Apart from her extensive experience on programs such as Lateline, Foreign Correspondent and 730, Anne Maria was also awarded a Getty Fellowship in Los Angeles for journalism.”

Mr Williams says Ms Godfrey has an impressive record in academic, medical and allied health print and digital publishing in Australia and Asia. “Ms Godfrey has more than 25 years’ experience with Australasia’s leading publishers, a majority of that in leadership roles.”

Mr Williams thanked Ms Russell, Mr Bertini and Mr Pash for their service on the Board. “Together these directors have made a substantial contribution to the Copyright Agency and its members, with both Lucy and Anthony serving the maximum term of nine years.

“Each of these directors has served on a number of committees and been active and engaged in performing  their duties. In particular, I would like to commend Lucy for her long tenure as the chair of the Audit and Finance committee. Lucy carried this additional workload with distinction.”

Full biographies of both new Board members are below.

Biography – Anne Maria Nicholson

Anne Maria Nicholson is Deputy chair of the Australian Society of Authors.

For more than 40 years she has worked as a journalist internationally, including 20 years as a senior news and current affairs reporter with the ABC including Lateline and Foreign Correspondent.   She has written three novels, including two volcano thrillers published by HarperCollins.   Her broad governance experience includes four years as an elected alderman on Manly Council focussing on planning reforms, environmental protection and arts initiatives.

In 2012 Anne Maria was awarded a Getty Fellowship in LA for arts journalism and is a Life Member of the Media Alliance.

Biography Cath Godfrey

Cath is the Managing Director of McGraw Hill Education in Australia and New Zealand. She has 25 years’ experience in educational and professional publishing in Australia and the region and is the current convenor the tertiary and professional committee of the APA. Other directorships include the Australian Publishers Association and McGraw Hill Education Australia and New Zealand.

Media enquiries:

Sue Nelson Head, Communications and Media Relations, Copyright Agency

t: 02 9394 7685

 About the Copyright Agency

The Copyright Agency connects users and creators of content, providing licences for the use of copyright material such as text, images, art and survey plans. We manage the educational and government licences for the use of text and images, as well as the resale royalty scheme for artists (by Government appointment). Our members include writers, artists, surveyors and publishers. Membership is free.