Miles Franklin Announcements for 2021

May 26, 2021

Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund is once again proudly supporting this year’s Miles Franklin Award shortlist event on June 16. Six authors will be named for the shortlist, and the announcement will livestreamed on our Youtube channel on the night. Be sure to subscribe to our channel to watch the event online. Further details will be confirmed at a later date.

Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award announced the longlist earlier this month, featuring a mix of twelve established and up and coming authors for their novels of Australian stories.

The 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

Aravind AdigaAmnestyPan Macmillan Australia
Robbie ArnottThe Rain HeronText Publishing
Daniel Davis WoodAt the Edge of the Solid WorldBrio Books
Gail JonesOur ShadowsText Publishing
Sofie LagunaInfinite SplendoursAllen & Unwin
Amanda LohreyThe LabyrinthText Publishing
Laura Jean McKayThe Animals in That CountryScribe Publications
Andrew PipposLucky’sPan Macmillan Australia
Mirandi RiwoeStone Sky Gold MountainUniversity of Queensland Press
Philip SalomThe Fifth SeasonTransit Lounge
Nardi SimpsonSong of the CrocodileHachette Australia
Madeleine WattsThe Inland SeaPushkin Press

“The 2021 Miles Franklin longlist is a rich mix of well-established, early career and debut novelists whose work ranges from historical fiction to fabulism and psychologism. Through an array of distinctive voices these works invite their readers to engage with questions regarding the natural and animal worlds, asylum, sexual abuse, colonialism, racism and grief. These are stories about trauma and loss, and also about beauty, resilience and hope,” said Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian.

The winner of the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary award will be announced on 15 July 2021. For further information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award:

Tags: ,