Doris Bush Nungarrayi wins 2023 Sulman Prize

May 31, 2023

Copyright Agency members shine in 2023 Archibald, Wynne and Sulman accolades.

Copyright Agency member, Doris Bush Nungarrayi, is the winner of this year’s prestigious Sir John Sulman Prize, for her work Mamunya ngalyananyi (Monster coming). Her painting features Mamus, which she refers to as ‘cheeky ones’. Mamus are ominous and malevolent spirits that can shapeshift, and they hide underground or in the hollow of trees.

Artwork by Doris Bush Nungarrayi Mamunya ngalyananyi (Monster coming) acrylic on linen 198 x 273.5 cm © Doris Bush Nungarrayi/Copyright Agency, 2023

“I really love how each figure in Doris Bush Nungarrayi’s painting has an individual character that is simultaneously scary and cheeky,” said guest judge, Sydney artist, Nell.

“Yet collectively, these shapeshifters look like they are popping off the canvas and coming toward me, just as I am magnetically drawn to them. Mamunya Ngalyananyi (Monster coming) is a clear and powerful painting and a very deserving winner of the 2023 Sulman Prize.”

The Sulman Prize recognises the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project by an Australian artist. In 2023, there were 673 entries, with 45 selected as finalists.

A senior Luritja artist, Doris is the second Aboriginal artist to win the Sir John Sulman Prize since it was first awarded in 1936. While 2023 sees her as a first-time finalist for both the Sulman and Wynne Prizes, she is no stranger to accolades. Doris was a 2020 National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards finalist, Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize finalist in 2019, and shortlisted for the Alice Art Prize in 2018. Her work can be found in the Artbank Collection, Macquarie Bank Collection, University of Western Sydney Collection, and The Hassall Collection.

We’re thrilled to see so many of our Copyright Agency members acknowledged as ArchibaldWynne and Sulman finalists this year. Congratulations to you all.

Archibald Prize finalist Copyright Agency members

  • Abdul Abdullah
  • Angela Brennan
  • Yvette Coppersmith
  • Luke Cornish
  • Katherine Hattam
  • Andrea Huelin
  • Laura Jones
  • Danie Mellor
  • Lewis Miller
  • Jason Phu
  • Ryan Presley
  • Marikit Santiago
  • Oliver Watts
  • Kaylene Whiskey
  • Tiger Yaltangki
  • Zoe Young

Wynne Prize finalist Copyright Agency members

  • Katjarra Butler
  • Betty Campbell
  • Betty Chimney
  • Matthew Clarke
  • Pippin Drysdale
  • Tuppy Ngintja Goodwin
  • Yaritji Heffernan
  • Dinni Kunoth Kemarre
  • Noel McKenna
  • Christopher McVinish
  • Guido (Guy) Maestri
  • Danie Mellor
  • Mantua Nangala
  • Doris Bush Nungarrayi
  • John Olsen
  • Jason Phu
  • Louis Pratt
  • Sandra Pumani

Sulman Prize finalist Copyright Agency members

  • Ronnie Allen
  • Matthew Clarke
  • Catherine Clayton-Smith
  • Timothy Cook
  • Henry Curchod
  • Karla Dickens
  • Nyinta Donald
  • Katherine Hattam
  • Nadia Hernández
  • Kez Hughes
  • Locust Jones
  • Kieren Karritpul
  • Iluwanti Ken
  • Glenn Morgan
  • Doris Bush Nungarrayi
  • Philjames
  • Jason Phu
  • Marisa Purcell
  • Dionisia Salas
  • Doris Thomas
  • Kaylene Whiskey

The Art Gallery of NSW is currently exhibiting the finalists and winners of the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes until 3 September 2023. Find exhibition details and find the full list of winners on the Art Gallery of NSW website.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,