Congratulations to our cartoonist members recognised at the 2023 Stanleys

November 2, 2023

Good times were had as cartoonists, animators and illustrators gathered recently for the 39th Annual Stanley Awards in Melbourne. Named after Australian cartoonist Stan Cross, and presented by the Australian Cartoonists Association (ACA), the Stanleys take place during the ACA’s awards and conference weekend annually.

The Stanleys recognise the best cartoons of the year, as judged by ACA peers.

Copyright Agency were a proud sponsor of the 2023 Stanley Awards. We’d like to congratulate all the nominees and winners. In particular, a shout out goes to our award-winning members:

David Rowe, winner of the Gold Stanley for Cartoonist of the Year (for the ninth time – breaking Bill Leak’s eight Gold Stanleys record!). David also took home the Stanley Award for Caricaturist and Illustrator.

Steve Panozzo, winner of the Event Caricaturist Stanley Award.

Cathy Wilcox, winner of the Editorial/Political Cartoonist Stanley Award.

Andrew Weldon, winner of the Single Gag Cartoonist Stanley Award.

Peter Broelman was awarded The Jim Russell Award for Contribution to Australian Cartooning.

You can check out ACA members’ portfolios here.

We welcome cartoonists, animators and illustrators who are not already Copyright Agency members to learn more about membership. It’s free, and easy to join online.