May 29, 2024

Industry Minister: trust in AI undermined by unauthorised uses of creators’ works

In a speech to the Australian Financial Review Artificial Intelligence (AI) Summit (here) the Minister for Industry and Science (Ed Husic) talked about building trust in AI in the Australian community to boost adoption of AI in Australia. He referred to current issues that are eroding trust in AI, including the unauthorised use of creators’ […]

May 27, 2024

Japan Copyright Office on AI and Copyright

The Japan Copyright Office, part of the Japanese Government’s Agency for Cultural Affairs, has published ‘General Understanding on AI and Copyright in Japan: Overview’ (May 2024). The document is available here, and there is a link to it from the webpage for the Copyright Subdivision of the Culture Council of the Agency for Cultural Affairs here. […]

May 27, 2024

Newscorp and OpenAI announce licensing deal

On 22 May, Newscorp and OpenAI announced a multi-year licensing deal. You can see NewsCorp’s announcement here, and OpenAI’s announcement here. The deal follows others between OpenAI and media companies, including with the Financial Times (here).

May 27, 2024

Parliamentary inquiry on the influence and impacts of social media on Australian society

A Parliamentary Joint Select Committee on Social Media and Australian Society has been established inquire into and report on the influence and impacts of social media on Australian society. Its terms of reference include: (a) the use of age verification to protect Australian children from social media; (b) the decision of Meta to abandon deals […]

May 27, 2024

Parliamentary Inquiry into the Digital Transformation of Workplaces

The House Standing Committee on Employment, Education and Training is conducting an inquiry into automated decision making and machine learning techniques in the workplace. The Terms of Reference (here) include: the benefits for productivity, skills development, career progression and job creation in Australia; the role of business software and regulatory technology (‘Reg Tech’) in improving […]

May 16, 2024

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2024 longlist announced

Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, today announced ten authors have been included on the 2024 longlist. They will be competing for one of the most recognised literary prizes in Australia, with the winner also receiving $60,000. Selected from 104 books, the Award celebrates novels of the highest literary merit that tell […]

May 16, 2024

Copyright Agency Board Directors Update

Kirsty Murray has stepped down from the Board after serving for four years as a Director. Kirsty was nominated by the Australian Society of Authors and appointed to the Board in 2020. During her time with Copyright Agency Kirsty has shared significant insight into the experiences of our author members and been a strong advocate […]

May 10, 2024

Copyright Agency provides licence solution for NGA’s Sharing the National Collection initiative

Our Visual Arts licensing team have been working closely with the National Gallery and its partner venues as part of their Sharing the National Collection initiative, offering simple licence solutions to cover marketing and promotional uses. The initiative, launched last year and supported by the Australian Government’s cultural policy, Revive, has seen iconic pieces from […]