Notice of the 2017 Annual General Meeting

November 7, 2017

Notice of Meeting

Notice is given that the Annual General Meeting of Members of Copyright Agency Limited (the Company) will be held at the Remington Room, Fifth Floor, SMC Conference and Function Centre, 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales on Thursday, 30 November at 4:30pm.

1. Apologies
2. Declaration of Proxies*
3. Presentation of Accounts and Reports (Directors and Auditors) for the period 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017
4. Questions of the Auditor
5. Chair’s address
6. Chief Executive Officer’s report

By order of the Board
Josephine Johnston
Company Secretary
23 October 2017

A member of the Company entitled to attend and vote is entitled to appoint a proxy to attend and vote instead of the member. A proxy need not be a member of the Company. A form of proxy accompanies this notice.

To be effective, a form of proxy must be received:

• at the registered office of the Company at Level 11, 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney NSW 2000; or
• by facsimile sent to the Company on +61 2 9394 7601

not less than 48 hours before the person named in that proxy intends to vote in accordance with that proxy, i.e. no later than 4.30pm 28 November 2017.

Corporate Representative
A corporate entity is entitled to appoint a representative to attend and vote on its behalf at the meeting. A form of appointment of a representative accompanies this notice. This document can be provided to the company in the same manner as a proxy form at any time before or at the meeting.

The Board of Directors is comprised as follows:
a) Ms Adele Ferguson, a director who is an author member, elected by the author members of the Company.
b) Ms Jane Curry, a director who is a publisher member, elected by the publisher members of the Company.
c) Mr Chris Pash and Ms Helen O’Neill, two directors appointed by the Australian Society of Authors Limited (ASA).
d) Ms Lucy Russell and Mr David Barnett, two directors appointed by the Australian Publishers Association Limited (APA).
e) Mr Anthony Bertini, a director appointed by the other directors pursuant to Article 35(a).
f) Mr Kim Williams (Chair) and Ms Bronwyn Bancroft, two directors appointed by the other directors pursuant to Article 35(b).

The names of directors whose terms as director expire at the 2017 AGM are italicised. The Australian Publishers Association Limited and the Australian Society of Authors Limited have nominated Mr David Barnett and Ms Helen O’Neill respectively to be re-appointed immediately following the AGM.

There is an Extraordinary General Meeting scheduled to be held on 2 November 2017 to amend the Constitution of the Company. If those amendments are approved at that meeting, following the AGM, the Board also proposes to confirm the appointment of Mr Oliver Watts as the Artist Director appointed in accordance with the proposed amendments to Article 30.

Minutes of the 2016 meeting are available here.

Directors’ report

An electronic copy of Copyright Agency Limited’s Annual Report including the Director’s Report and Financial Report may be viewed, downloaded and/or printed from the Copyright Agency website. If you wish to receive a printed copy of the report, please contact us on 02 9394 7600 or email Copies of the Annual Report will also be available at the meeting.

Sign up for e-notices

To receive notices of Annual General Meetings and reports electronically, please sign up by sending an email to

Appointment of representative

If your membership is in the name of your company or other organisation, you may want to complete the Appointment of Representative form and return it prior to the meeting by fax or post. If you have provided this form to us previously, you do not need to submit a new form unless there has been any change in the appointed representative.

Should you have any questions regarding the Annual General Meeting, please contact us on 02 9394 7600, or email

Tags: , , ,