Nevermoor scoops 2018 Book Industry Awards

May 4, 2018

The Australian Publishers Association has announced the winners of the 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs).

Nevermoor picked up three awards including the major award of the night, the Gold ABIA for the Book of the Year, along with the Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year and Book of the Year for Younger Readers.

The inaugural Rising Star of the Year was awarded to Shalini Kunalan from Text Publishing. Publisher of the Year went to HarperCollins while Thames & Hudson received Small Publisher of the Year. Dymocks was awarded National Retailer of the Year, and once again Readings won Independent Retailer of the Year.

Suzy Wilson, owner of Brisbane’s Riverbend Books and the founder of the highly respected Indigenous Literary Foundation, was presented with the Lloyd O’Neil Award for Outstanding Service to the Australian Book Industry, and the Pixie O’Harris Award for Outstanding Commitment to Children’s Literature was awarded to Jane Covernton.

The Copyright Agency-sponsored award for General Non-Fiction Book of the Year was awarded to The Trauma Cleaner: One Woman’s Extraordinary Life in Death, Decay & Disaster, by Sarah Krasnostein (Text Publishing).

See the full list of winners here.

The awards were announced on May 3 at a gala dinner at the Sydney International Convention Centre, hosted by ABC TV’s Ben Jenkins and Zoe Norton-Lodge.

Tags: , ,