Resale Royalty International Reciprocity is here

May 8, 2024

You may have heard the news or read our earlier articles here and hereWhether you have or not, here’s a quick recap of key points:

Reciprocity started: 31 March 2024

Reciprocating countries:

  • Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.
  • More countries will be added over time.

For artists

  • Through our network of international partners, we will collect royalties on eligible resales that occur in reciprocating countries for you.
  • The resales of your work will follow the Resale Royalty Right as it operates in that country.
  • If you would like to know more about how it will work, our partner societies, or ask us not to collect overseas for you, please contact us on

For art market professionals:

  • You will continue to report resales to us as you have been doing, noting that artists from reciprocating countries will now be entitled to royalties on eligible resales. If you have any questions on an artist’s eligibility, please contact us for assistance.
  • Prior to the introduction of reciprocity, there were some Australian artists’ resales that were not eligible for resale royalty as their beneficiaries did not have the requisite connection to Australia or a reciprocating country. With the introduction of reciprocity, that has changed for some. From 31 March 2024, resales of these artists’ works will attract a resale royalty: Roy De Maistre, Stella Bowen, William Delafield Cook, Basil Hadley, Colin Colahan, Ida Rentoul Outhwaite and Ian Fairweather.

For more information on international reciprocity or the resale royalty scheme in general, please contact us on: